Board of Directors

Matt Petersen, Board Chair

Matt Petersen is the former Chief Sustainability Officer for the City of Los Angeles, the first in the city’s history.  In this role, he developed and implemented the City’s first Sustainable City pLAn which is a data-driven pLAn that lays out the long and short term sustainability outcomes for the City of Los Angeles. Under the Mayor’s leadership, Matt was able to bring together Mayors from other cities to combat climate change by playing a major role with organizations such as C40 and the Mayors National Climate Action Agenda.

Katherine Gajewski, Board Member

Katherine Gajewski is the former Sustainability Director of Philadelphia under Mayor Michael Nutter during which she worked to implement the ambitious city-wide Greenworks Philadelphia plan and directed a five-county energy-efficiency program. Gajewski served two four-year terms with the City of Philadelphia, 6 as Sustainability Director. In 2016, she co-founded City Scale, a national initiative that aims to identify gaps in urban sustainability opportunities.

Roger Kim, Board Member

Roger Kim is the former Senior Advisor to the Mayor of San Francisco where he was responsible for issues related to climate change, energy, and the environment, and also served on the Board of Directors of the Bay Area Air Quality Management District. Currently, he is the Senior Strategy and Planning Officer at Democracy Alliance, where he leads the DA’s strategy on climate change and directs the Climate Fund.