Climate Mayors Announces New Steering Committee Members to Deepen Leadership on Local Climate Action

New members to bring fresh ideas and cross-regional learning to the organization of over 350+ mayors.

October 31, 2023 Since 2014, Climate Mayors has mobilized over 750 U.S. mayors in the fight against the climate crisis, and today, the organization enhances its Steering Committee with six new members. The following six mayors: Angela Birney, Redmond, WA; Barbara Buffaloe, Columbia, MO; Thomas Roach, White Plains, NY; Frank Scott, Jr., Little Rock, AR; Caroline Simmons, Stamford, CT; and Miro Weinberger, Burlington, VT will serve as critical pillars within the Climate Mayors network and across the country. As we enter a critical year to deliver on the promises of the Biden-Harris clean energy plan in our cities, we look towards these strong climate champions to continue their clean energy, resilience and climate justice leadership.

These six mayors join the Steering Committee with returning members: Justin Bibb, Cleveland, OH; Michael P. Cahill, Beverly, MA; LaToya Cantrell, New Orleans, LA; Jane Castor, Tampa, FL; Andre Dickens, Atlanta, GA; Buddy Dyer, Orlando, FL; Jacob Frey, Minneapolis, MN; Ed Gainey, Pittsburgh, PA; Karen Bass, Los Angeles, CA; Kate Gallego, Phoenix, AZ; Jim Hovland, Edina, MN; Eric Johnson, Dallas, TX; Lioneld Jordan, Fayetteville, AR; Tim Keller, Albuquerque, NM; Indya Kincannon, Knoxville, TN; Lauren McLean, Boise, ID; Jeffrey Mims, Jr, Dayton, OH; Ron Nirenberg, San Antonio, TX; Satya Rhodes-Conway, Madison, WI; Daniel Rickenmann, Columbia, SC; Regina Romero, Tucson, AZ; Lucy Vinis, Eugene, OR; and Michelle Wu, Boston, MA. 

The Steering Committee works alongside the Climate Mayors’ Chair, Madison Mayor Satya Rhodes-Conway, and Vice-Chairs, Phoenix Mayor Kate Gallego and Cleveland Mayor Justin Bibb to continue driving local climate action to create cities that not only survive but thrive in the face of the most challenging issue of our time – climate change. With the addition of these new members, the Steering Committee will continue to catalyze membership and more deeply engage their regions, in addition to showcasing how Climate Mayors are ramping up innovative energy, justice, and decarbonization projects to secure both resiliency and prosperity in cities across the U.S.

“To stay on top of an issue as complex as climate change, we must engage the best and brightest leaders who are passionate and focused on making a lasting change. At Climate Mayors, we prioritize learning, innovation and action – and that’s why we’re bringing in new leadership to our Steering Committee who will support both the mission of the organization and local communities in driving climate progress.” – Kate Wright, Executive Director of Climate Mayors

I’m thrilled to have the support and expertise of our new steering committee members as we focus on mobilizing unprecedented levels of federal funding to benefit our communities. With the addition of this diverse group of proven leaders, Climate Mayors is stronger than ever.” – Satya Rhodes-Conway, Mayor of Madison, WI, and Climate Mayors Chair


About Climate Mayors:

Climate mayors is a bipartisan network that has mobilized more than 750 U.S. mayors since 2014, demonstrating climate leadership through meaningful actions in their communities. representing 46 states and nearly 60 million Americans, the climate mayors coalition reflects U.S. cities’ commitment to climate progress. For more information, please visit our website and follow Climate Mayors on Twitter and LinkedIn. For media inquiries please contact 

Media Contact: