Climate Mayors Network Announces New Steering Committee Members to Strengthen City Climate Action

New members will support committee in continuing to catalyze local climate action among Climate Mayors’ 500+ network members

AUGUST 2, 2022 – Today, Climate Mayors, the network of more than 500 U.S. mayors across the country committed to climate leadership and progress in their cities, announced the addition of eight new Steering Committee members to serve as critical voices within the Climate Mayors network and across the country — highlighting urgent and essential climate leadership occuring in cities throughout the United States. The new members of the Steering Committee are: Justin Bibb, Cleveland, OH; Ed Gainey, Pittsburgh, PA; Indya Kincannon, Knoxville, TN; Lauren McLean, Boise, ID; Jeffrey Mims Jr., Dayton, OH; Daniel Rickenmann, Columbia, SC; and Michelle Wu, Boston, MA. The Climate Mayors’ Steering Committee makes clear that mayors across the country have and will continue to step up and lead on climate, regardless of the decisions made at the federal level.

These eight mayors join the Steering Committee with returning members: Tim Keller, Albuquerque, NM; Steve Adler, Austin, TX; Michael Cahill, Beverly, MA; Jim Brainard, Carmel, IN; Mary Casillas Salas, Chula Vista, CA; Eric Johnson, Dallas, TX; Frank Cownie, Des Moines, IA; Jim Hovland, Edina, MN; Lucy Vinis, Eugene, OR; Lioneld Jordan,  Fayetteville, AR; Sylvester Turner,  Houston, TX; Greg Fischer, Louisville, KY; Eric Garcetti, Los Angeles, CA; Satya Rhodes-Conway,  Madison, WI; Jacob Frey,  Minneapolis, MN; LaToya Cantrell,  New Orleans, LA; Buddy Dyer, Orlando, FL; Kate Gallego, Phoenix, AZ; Ron Nirenberg, San Antonio, TX; Jane Castor, Tampa, FL; and Regina Romero, Tucson, AZ.

The Steering Committee works alongside the Climate Mayors’ Chair, Houston Mayor Sylvester Turner, and Co-Chairs, Phoenix Mayor Kate Gallego and Madison Mayor Satya Rhodes-Conway to continue driving city-led climate action to create more sustainable, equitable, and healthy cities for all. With the addition of these new members, the Steering Committee will continue to catalyze membership and more deeply engage their regions, in addition to showcasing how Climate Mayors are addressing and preparing for climate impacts in cities across the US.

“Cities experience the impacts of climate change firsthand — and local leaders are central to supporting the solutions that will create more climate resilient and equitable communities for the future,” said Houston Mayor Sylvester Turner. “While climate policy stalls at the federal level, cities know we cannot afford to waste time. We must take climate action into our own hands — and the Climate Mayors Steering Committee will lead us.”

“Mayors have long been at the frontline of bold climate and emissions reductions efforts — and our Steering Committee mayors are leading this effort both within our network and in their own communities. We are thrilled to have the support of these new members working towards a brighter future for all,” said Phoenix Mayor Kate Gallego.

“As mayors, we know from experience that climate impacts us all. Whether red or blue, big or small, all cities are facing these impacts,” said Madison Mayor Satya Rhodes-Conway. “In the face of this challenge, our strength is derived from our diversity of experience. I look forward to working with these new members as we continue to tackle the greatest and most pressing challenge of our time.”

Following former President Donald Trump’s announcement of his plans to withdraw the U.S. from the landmark Paris Agreement in 2017, more than 300 mayors joined the Climate Mayors coalition and pledged to continue working toward meeting the goals of the Agreement within their cities. The bipartisan network has since grown to over 500 mayors, representing cities ranging in size and region — demonstrating the overwhelming support for climate action among the vast majority of Americans.


About Climate Mayors

Representing over 74 million Americans from 48 states, Climate Mayors is a peer-to-peer network of over 500 U.S. city mayors who have committed to fighting climate change. Originally founded in 2014 by 3 mayors, the network’s ranks swelled to almost 400 mayors in response to the U.S. withdrawal from the Paris Agreement in June 2017. Climate Mayors is committed to accelerating equitable climate action to help each member city achieve their climate goals, while working together city-to-city, with states, and the Biden administration to increase national climate ambition. For more information, please visit and follow Climate Mayors on Twitter and LinkedIn.

Media Contact: